Aloha Driving Academy is a driving school that provides a calm and nurturing learning environment for our new drivers. We emphasize safe driving habits and courtesy.  Thanks to past clients for their kind reviews.

44 Comments

  1. Judy C.
    June 30, 2014

    My 16 year old son just completed behind-the-wheel lessons with Silvia, an instructor for Aloha Driving Academy. She was wonderful! She was very thorough and effective in teaching my son. I highly recommend her to anyone looking for an instructor who knows just how to teach teens how to drive safely!

  2. Elba C
    July 2, 2014

    My 16 year old son just completed behind the wheel with Silvia. She is an instructor with Aloha Driving Academy. She was very patient and it was evident that she gave my son worthwhile and feedback that helped him to improve in small specific areas that made him a better driver. The feedback were detailed that are important when a young person is learning to drive and they hear it from someone else other than their parent. I would recommend Sylvia as well as Aloha Driving Academy for final lessons before receiving their license.

  3. Alexa
    July 3, 2014

    I just completed my 7th lesson and final test with Bob. It was a great experience. Bob was very easygoing, calm, and knowledgable. He taught me tricks for parking, lane changes, and more, all of which helped immensely. Bob has brakes and a gas pedal on the passenger side of the car as well as quick reflexes, so I always felt safe, even when other kids weren’t as experienced at driving as they should’ve been! Just don’t expect to take behind the wheel with Aloha Bob and find them lenient. They prepare you very well for the road, which means complete stops at stop signs and driving under the speed limit! But if you’re lucky, Bob might take you to Starbucks 🙂

  4. jill
    July 23, 2014

    My son just completed his behind the wheel training with Sharon. She was fabulous!! After every lesson Sharon gave me a full review of what was covered. Sharon kept the lessons fun, but at the same time, she made sure my son knew what was expected. I feel like Sharon was the perfect instructor – and I would highly recommend Aloha Driving Academy, and especially Sharon. Thank you!!

  5. Karey
    August 2, 2014

    We have two students who have been instructed by Aloha and are completely satisfied. Bob worked with our family’s busy sports schedule to make the driving times convenient. Both of my kids have said that he is a very patient and effective teacher.

  6. karen
    August 8, 2014

    My son concluded his behind the wheel driving last week with Dave. I never thought my son would ever get his license. He was not the typical teen wanting to drive. But Dave was amazing with him and somehow motivated him. My son never complained about the lessons even though he never wanted to drive with us. Dave kept it fun and entertaining, while making sure he knew what was expected. I see my son using his “tricks” Dave taught him. We highly recommend driving with Dave. Thank you so much for everything!

  7. Pat
    August 15, 2014

    I initially had a good experience with Aloha Driving Academy when my older daughter got her license two years ago so we came back for my youngest daughter’s lessons. It was even better than before–much better!! Sharon was her instructor and was the best! She not only kept my daughter at ease throughout each session but afterwards briefed me with a full review of what she learned as well as had difficulty with. The lessons weren’t just a trip to Starbucks and back–real learning was happening–imagine!! Sharon is awesome! Aloha Driving Academy and especially Sharon is the way to go–highly recommended. Thank you!

  8. Vanessa
    August 18, 2014

    My daughter completed her behind the wheel instruction with Sharon last night! Wow! She was so professional and made sure I was aware of the plan for every session. Sharon even took the time to sit with me after and explain how my daughter performed. Ashley feels so confident now and is ready to drive alone! Thanks Aloha and Sharon!

  9. Laura
    August 21, 2014

    My daughter just completed her Behind the Wheel Driver Training with Sharon. She gave my daughter a very positive & encouraging experience. She gave her many tips and made her feel very confident.
    I highly recommend Aloha Driving Academy and if you get Sharon as your instructor you are very blessed!

    Thank you Aloha and thank you Sharon!

  10. Julie
    August 23, 2014

    Dear Bob,

    Thank You so much for the wonderful driving instruction for our son, and for fitting him in to the August schedule. We appreciate your kindness and professionalism with us and our son , and he has enjoyed working with you so much. We look forward to recommending you to our friends.

    Thank you and enjoy the rest of the summer.

  11. Anne
    August 28, 2014

    My daughter just finished her Behind the Wheel with Sharon. We were extremely pleased with the experience. Sharon was calm and patient and always stressed safety. My daughter felt safe and comfortable and picked up some tips about things (like parking) which my husband and I found difficult to teach.

    Thanks for everything, Sharon!

  12. Shawna
    September 3, 2014

    My son just completed his behind the wheel training with Sharon. She is a great instructor. Sharon worked with our family’s busy sports schedule to make the driving times convenient. She was so professional and made sure I was aware of the plan for every session. Sharon even took the time to sit with me after each and explain how my son performed. I highly recommend her to anyone looking for an instructor who knows just how to teach teens how to drive safely!

    Thanks Sharon

  13. Carolyn
    September 8, 2014

    I have had three of my teens use Aloha for their behind the wheel training over the last 7 years. The school has shown consistent quality. Two of the teens had the same instructor, Silvia. She was patient, made them very comfortable and taught them well. I especially like the how she works with their schedules, picking them up and dropping them off at practices, school, jobs, etc. I highly recommend the school which is reasonably priced and great quality.

  14. Deb
    September 28, 2014

    Hi Fritz,
    My daughter’s driving instructor from Sept 2012 was Ernest-just came to me! She said he looked like Jesus.
    My son looks forward to getting started on Monday. Thanks, Deb

  15. Jeff
    October 1, 2014

    Very good school. I went due to a speeding ticket and despite the fact that I was the only one that showed up the instructor took the time to cover everything and was very friendly. Made the day go by very quickly and the prices can’t be beat!

  16. Amy
    October 20, 2014

    My daughter took her behind the wheel classes with Sharon and it was an overall great experience. My daughter’s confidence in driving improved and Sharon made it fun and comfortable and put them through different scenarios to help build their driving skills. I appreciated the time she took after each session to sit with us and go over what they learned that day and how my daughter performed. Scheduling the sessions were made easy as Sharon was very accommodating with any necessary changes.

    I highly recommend Sharon as the driving trainer for teens. She is great at what she does! Thanks so much Sharon!

  17. Kim
    November 4, 2014

    My son finished his behind the wheel with Sharon. We love,love, love her. Sharon went above and beyond teaching Danny and I actually was not terrified the first time my son left in the car on his own after passing his test. As stated in other reviews, Sharon stopped in and updated me on everything the worked on and how he did. She explained reference points to him and he totally grasped the importance of them. She even took him on the Beltway and the Mixing Bowl !!! Danny was completely at ease with her and she seemed to enjoy working with him, telling me funny stories about things that happened during their lessons. I recommend Aloha Bob, specifically Sharon to anyone 100%. Thanks Sharon!

  18. Nanci
    November 6, 2014

    Where do I begin? I had the pleasure of having Bob himself as my instructor. This man has the patience of a saint. His calm demeanor combined with expert teaching skills made all the difference in obtaining my driver’s license. I am not young. I guess you can teach an old dog new tricks after all. Especially if Bob is doing the teaching. I asked how many lessons will I be taking. He said there is no number. Our goal is to make you a safe driver. And safe I am thanks to Bob. I also learned to like country music as well because that is what we listened to during each lesson. 🙂 I highly recommend Aloha Driving Academy.

    Thank you Bob. I couldn’t have done it without you. God Bless. N~

  19. Joanne G
    November 10, 2014

    My 16 year old son have Dave as his driving instructor. Dave was a wonderful driving instructor. He was prompt and very flexible. He always worked around my son’s schedule. We have thoroughly enjoyed our experience with Aloha Driving Academy. I would highly recommend them

  20. Kathryn
    December 10, 2014

    I recently finished behind the wheel, and I am so glad I took it with Aloha. My instructor was Sharon. She taught me so much about almost every kind of driving topic – reference points, parking tips and tricks, what to do if the car goes off the road or hits a deer, you name it! Plus, she’s very friendly and patient and never overreacts when you make a mistake but whenever I did something wrong, she made sure I tried again and got it right. I learned a ton! Driving used to scare me, but Sharon kept it fun and helped me overcome my nervousness. I recommend behind the wheel with her very, very highly!

  21. Simmons
    January 23, 2015

    Hawaiian Bob,

    Thank you so very much for going above and beyond with Jonathan. You take pride in your work, your business and it definitely shows.
    We appreciate your patience and kindness more than you will ever know.

    Thank You,
    The simmons

  22. Bob
    January 23, 2015

    Aloha All !
    This is Bob / Hawaiian Bob, and as a business owner I just had to post this !

    This is PART of a phone call requesting information for behind the wheel instruction in the Centerville and Chantilly area.

    Caller: ok that all sounds good, can we go ahead and book that? BUT can we request for a specific instructor?

    Aloha Dad: Yes, absolutley

    Caller: Do you have an instructor named Franklin? can you name instructors in our area?

    Aloha Dad: no, sorry, nobody named Franklin. In your area we have Ernest and….

    Caller: YES he’s the one that we’ve been hearing alot of good things about, we hear that he is really good!

    Aloha Dad: yes, he is a very good instructor.

    Caller: we haven’t heard of Bob but im sure he is good also.
    ………END……..

    A BIG MAHALO to you Ernest…..

    I give great praise in hearing this, it reassures me that we are on the correct path, His path, for it is……. His business.

    Hawaiian Bob

  23. K.w.
    February 8, 2015

    Despite the cramped location, the Driver Improvement Class at Aloha was very professional, created a comfortable environment and very friendly. I would definitely recommend.

  24. Jill
    February 26, 2015

    My oldest son just finished his behind the wheel portion with Sylvia. She was great….very patient and encouraging with my son. She was also very helpful to me and flexible with scheduling. We were referred to Aloha from neighbors and are very happy we chose them. It was a great experience all around.

  25. Betty
    February 28, 2015

    Bob,

    Thank you for teaching all 3 of our boys to drive.

    Fondly,

    The Martins

  26. Laura K
    March 20, 2015

    My daughter just finished her 7th lesson with Sylvia today. We have been so pleased with how kind and patient Sylvia has been. She was so accommodating in working around our crazy schedule and always had a smile on her face. 🙂 My daughter felt comfortable with her from the very first day. Thank you so much, Sylvia, for a wonderful first experience with driver training for our family. We will be calling you again next year when its my second daughters turn! God bless you!

  27. Laura
    March 22, 2015

    I just wanted to let you know how pleased we were with the driving lessons that Sylvia provided our daughter, Catherine. She was so friendly and kind and really easy to work with as far as scheduling. Catherine felt very comfortable with her. Our next daughter turns 16 next year so we will be contacting you then for her lessons. The Matthews highly recommended your company to us and we’ve already passed your name onto Catherine’s friends.

  28. Bailey
    May 19, 2015

    He gave me a lemon bar. Great guy!

  29. Annette
    June 7, 2015

    I took their Driver Improvement Class on 6/6 since I was mandated to by the DMV. Even though it was 8 hours long, it went by quickly and was actually very entertaining and super helpful. Bob himself led the class and had many relevant stories to share, jokes to keep us lively, useful advice, and an interactive game that taught us valuable lessons. He also bought us pizza for lunch, which was an added plus! Moreover, compared to other places, Aloha Driving Academy had the best pricing I could find, which I really appreciate since I needed the money to pay for my ticket! Thanks Bob for making this a painless class!

  30. Gage
    June 10, 2015

    I used Aloha Bobs driving school for my behind the wheel class almost 7 years and it was a great experience! Unfortunately a few months ago I got my first ticket since that behind the wheel course and I was ordered by court to take a Driver Improvement Course. It was a no brainer to take the class with Aloha Bob. Like most people I was not to excited to sit in a class room for 8 hours but once again another awesome experience with the Aloha Bob Driving school. The class went by in a breeze. Bob made the class very entertaining with real world examples of driving situations. Not only was the class fun but it was extremely useful. I had forgotten so many driving skills that Bob helped me with and I was edified to some new driving rules and tactics. When it comes to the price of the class you won’t be able to find a better deal and lunch is provided! Bottom line is Aloha Bob is a great driving instructor that truly cares about his students success and well-being on the road.

  31. Kristen
    July 22, 2015

    My daughter recently completed her Behind the Wheel course with Sylvia Brooks, instructor at Aloha. Sylvia was a wonderful and patient instructor. I was able to observe improvement after each lesson. She was reliable and flexible with scheduling driving times. I highly recommend Aloha.

  32. Laura
    August 23, 2015

    both of our sons have completed the didactic portion of their required driver’s education with Aloha Bob. They remembered what they learned, and it was really practical, engaging and the time went by fast!

    The real-world examples that were shown and discussed, left a permanent impression on our sons.

    Our oldest also completed the behind the wheel training through Aloha Bob Driving Academy. This too was convenient, and it was great that the instructor picked up each student at their home and started the classes right from the student’s home.
    We are looking forward to our second son going through this program as well.
    Thanks for making what could be stressful a truly enjoyable learning experience.

  33. Joanne
    September 1, 2015

    My son completed his behind-the-wheel lessons and received his license from Sharon last week. Sharon was GREAT to work with! She made both my son and me feel very comfortable with her and with the process. Sharon was patient, communicative, informative and friendly. I would highly recommend Sharon and Aloha Driving Academy to anyone who is looking for BTW training! Thanks for everything! – Joanne

  34. Margaret
    October 2, 2015

    My daughter completed BTW with Sharon and it was a wonderful experience. My daughter felt more confident about driving after working with Sharon. I thought Sharon was an amazing instructor, she was calm and patient. I liked the reports she gave at the end of each session and let us know which skills to practice in between sessions. THANK YOU!!!

  35. Maritza Roberts Bray
    November 5, 2015

    All you have to do is call this business and you hear the professionalism. I must say the reply to a prior review conveys the professionalism that the instructor of this business uses in everyday situations. I worked with Bob Albert for several years and he has always displayed a very professional outlook to every situation. This can be a very difficult task when working with the public. He has a very kind and caring personality with a brilliant disposition. If you have chosen to use the establishment I can assure you that you have made a very well informed and wise decision. If you are nervous about learning how to drive or about your loved one learning how to drive send them to Bob at Aloha! He has the most tranquil and calming character I have witnessed. I truly admire Bob Albert and have a tremendous amount of gratitude to have been able spend the few years working and learning from hm.

    Warmest Regards,
    Maritza Bray

  36. Leanne
    January 15, 2016

    It took over a week to get our first driving appointment, that was fine.

    The day of our 5 PM appointment with Bob I got a text 7 minutes before arrival time to say they were stuck in traffic, 21 miles away. At 6:20 I asked if I should assume the appointment was being rescheduled since it was an hour and a half late, pitch black outside, and raining at that point (I just didn’t think those were the best conditions for the FIRST driving experience.)

    At 6:22 he replied to say they were 9 miles away, and they were in a location that wasn’t even in line from where they were at 5PM. I expressed that I was disappointed and this was unprofessional. He offered me another appointment 5 days later and during school hours.

    That was it. He called awhile later making excuses about the traffic and how it wasn’t his fault but again offering nothing other than the Tuesday during school hours.

  37. bob
    February 13, 2016

    Thank you to the students that were driving on the night of the 15th and the 20th when we got that dusting of snow. Just as on Friday the 15th when it was raining, traffic was terrible, just as it was with the dusting on the 20th. One of the students that was in the car at 9:20 pm said ” it’s the lesson in patience and that she couldn’t believe how exhausting driving can be ! ” I agreed and as you learn what to expect and what to look for , driving will get a little less mentally taxing on you.
    Their parents and themselves agreed that it was such a good experience for them, one that they would normally have when they would be alone WITH NO guidance.
    We normally do not drive with snow covered roads but according to the weather reports it wasn’t supposed to be that bad and the students would not have been in the car for three and a half hours. All the parents thanked us for giving updates on the condition and that we’re safe and mentioned that there are some things that we can not control, some of them being traffic, weather and new drivers behind the wheel learning.

    Mahalo Parents and studentss
    Bob

  38. Shirley Butler
    April 23, 2016

    Aloha Everyone!

    I took the DIP class with Bob on 4/23/16 and it was really informative. I have been driving for over 25 years and took the class to improve my points with DMV since I tend to speed and received a couple of tickets over the last 2 years which proves I’m good at it! I’m always on the go and without thinking, I want to get where I need to be – fast! So Ironically, I decided to take the Aloha DIP class & the atmosphere was relaxing, the instructor was kind and we got a lot done in the 8 hours – I learned so much, the little things that I tend to overlook because I’m in the zone of my busy life. It opened my eyes to habits I formed without realizing and I will be doing my best to incorporate safer ones. I recommend this class to anyone who is just learning how to drive or has been driving for many years and needs a refresher. My plan is to slow down and remember… I’m not the only one on the road. Thank you Bob – (Shaka Sign)

  39. EAH
    April 24, 2016

    Bob made this course enjoyable & easy going. Hell, I may come back again!
    Thanks for all you do.
    HANG LOOSE!

  40. Nik
    April 27, 2016

    I took 3 driving lessons with Silvia from 4/5 to 4/15 . She was very calm and gave great instruction that was easy to understand. I found her advice very helpful in preparing for my road test. I would highly recommend Silvia to anyone needing instruction.

  41. Jennifer Harris
    August 1, 2016

    My son took his lessons with Ernest, which produced a less than desirable result with scheduling. He gave my son a schedule for all 7 lessons and not one time did he stick to the schedule. He cancelled 2 days with last minute notice (like 30 minutes beforehand) and every other lesson was delayed by sometimes up to 2 hours. This wrecked havoc on our already busy schedule. It showed no regard whatsoever for people having other things to do outside of driving lessons. He has 2 more lessons this week – if the schedule is even somewhat adhered to and then he will be done. I would use the school again but never Ernest.

  42. Marge
    August 22, 2016

    My daughter recently passed her driving test with Silvia, and I couldn’t be happier. I was seeing improvement from the first lesson, but my daughter’s confidence took a bit longer. By the final lesson, she was driving with much more ease and skill! Thank you, Aloha, I will recommend your driving school to anyone who asks!

  43. bob
    August 23, 2016

    I am so sorry for the inconvenience and the disregard to your schedule.

    This is offered as a reason not an excuse: Ernest car went into the repair shop and we placed him in the back up car so that it would not disrupt the schedule of out clients / students, unfortunately the first morning, July 25th the A/C compressor of the back up car decided that it was going to come apart at about 8:45 a.m. We arranged to have everyone in the vehicle at the time taken back home and we had to cancel the remainder of the day and a good part of the following due to the vehicle not being ready.
    I do thank you for letting us know what your concerns are and we will look into other ways to address this situation should it arise again.

    Mahalo,
    Bob

  44. Stephanie Bell
    August 29, 2016

    Way to go ALOHA! After calling several driving schools in our area (Haymarket/Gainesville), our decision to go with Aloha was easy. From my first call to our daughters last session the service we received was top notch – no surprises. The young woman who answered my initial call was professional and knowledgeable. She explained the entire process, set up the first session and reviewed the payment process and cost. The instructor, Bob, arrived for the first session a few minutes early to sign paper work, discussed future scheduling and then they were off. We had a foreseen scheduling conflict and Bob made accommodations that worked for us & him. My daughter noted how much she appreciated the calmness with which Bob instructed. Made me laugh because I am quite aware that, when I am instructing my kids in the art of driving, my delivery can be quite the opposite. She is almost a pro after the pointers Bob gave her on pulling into parking spaces, sounds like nothing but when she describes the action as taught by Bob and is able to pull into a parking space with ease……it’s impressive. No doubt she is still a new driver but I am certain that the lessons Bob taught her will last a lifetime. We were at work when my daughter arrived home after her last session, Bob needed a parents signature to issue her temporary license and offered to stop by later that evening when we returned from work – WOW – what service! We too are small business owners and were very impressed with the level of service we received through Aloha – every interaction was personal and professional.

Leave a Reply